KTM Motorcycles in India

KTM bike price range starts from Rs. 1,51,570 and goes up to Rs. 3,10,884. The brand offers 9 two-wheeler models in the country with some of the most popular bikes being KTM 125 Duke, KTM 200 Duke and KTM RC 125. The recent bike of KTM includes 790 Adventure. The most expensive KTM bike is 390 Adventure, which starts at Rs. 3,10,884. In the year 1953, Ernst Kronreif became a shareholder of Kraftfahrzeug Trunkenpolz Mattighofen, which was later renamed and as Kronreif and Trunkenpolz Mattighofen. KTM started the production of R100 in the year 1954. The brand only had 20 employees, and the motorcycles were produced at the rate of three per day. The company secured its first title with the 1954 Austrian 125 national championship. KTM first made a debut at the International Six Days Trials (Enduro) in 1956, in which Egon Dornauer secured a gold medal. Racing was the testing ground for production technology, but the next line-up was of its first scooter, the Mirabell. It started providing a factory in 1964. With the expansion of the company, the workforce also increased to 400 in the year 1971, and 40 years after it was founded, KTM was manufacturing 42 different types of models. In 2012, the KTM Duke 200 was launched in the Indian market. In the same year, Bajaj Auto increased its stake in KTM from 14.5 per cent to 47 per cent. In the year 2008, KTM and Bajaj announced that they were planning to manufacture two new 125cc, 200cc and 390cc mass-focussed motorcycles. KTM also owns Husqvarna, and their Vitpilen 401 and Svartpilen models will probably be produced in India at the Bajaj-KTM plant in Chakan, Pune. The news came after the senior vice-president of Bajaj, Amit Nandi, hinted that an all-new range of 'made-in-India' Husqvarnas would be produced at some point in 2017. Bajaj plays an important role in this positive change for KTM. The Duke/RC series from KTM is made at Bajaj's facility in Chakan and then exported to the other countries. Some of the countries to which KTM-Bajaj exports the KTM Duke/RC are Australia, Europe, Nepal, Korea, Japan, Hong Kong, Philippines, Thailand, Singapore, Colombia, Malaysia, Mexico and Argentina.